## Minister Hogan Establishes European Parliament constituency committee

Mr. Phil Hogan, T.D., Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, announced today (29<sup>th</sup> July 2013) that he has made an order under the Electoral Act 1997 establishing an independent committee to report on European Parliament constituencies.

In accordance with the 1997 Act, the Chief Justice has nominated the Hon. Mr. Justice John Cooke to act as Chairperson of the committee. The other members of the committee are:

- the Secretary General of the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government (Ms. Geraldine Tallon),
- the Director General of the Office of the Ombudsman, (Ms. Bernie McNally),
- the Clerk of the Dáil (Mr. Kieran Coughlan), and
- the Clerk of the Seanad (Ms. Deirdre Lane).

The Committee is required to report to the Chairman of the Dáil no later than two months after its establishment.

The European Council on 28 June 2013 made a decision on the number of MEPs to be elected for the 2014 – 2019 Parliamentary term. This provides for 11 members to be elected in Ireland, a reduction from the present 12 members. A review of European Parliament constituencies is therefore necessary.